679 Artifact 1: The Badge System

Badge System Reflection

I have always wanted to incorporate a badge system into my instruction, but never really understood how to do it, at least not efficiently.  I want to be able to quickly evaluate students to determine mastery of a concept or skill in order to reward them with a badge. This eluded me as I believed it would require far too much time to grade and reward badges.  I want more of the responsibility to fall on the students. Therefore, I have created the following badge system, this will be implemented in our stoichiometry unit in chemistry, to monitor student progress toward mastery the concept and all associated skills within.  

Although I must create questions and badges (which I really enjoy doing), the students must do the work and submit it to me for review.  When they have achieved mastery of the skill, the badge is very easily awarded to the student by simply turning the color on and increasing the transparency.  

I will continue to develop these badge systems for each of the 14 units of chemistry.  I have already finished 2 units and, with a template in place, only need to swap out the badges and the questions that must be answered to demonstrate mastery.  

I am excited to incorporate student portfolio development within this badge system.  Students will be able to link their artifacts onto the badge page so that they can go back and see their mastery.

Leave a comment